Chapter 5 Rehabilitation Services

Organizations providing rehabilitation services include: the National Offenders Rehabilitation Commission (a council consisting of a chairperson and four members) within the Ministry of Justice; regional parole boards established within the jurisdiction of each high court (a council consisting of no less than three but no more than the maximum number of members specified by Cabinet Order (15)); and probation offices established within the jurisdiction of each district court. The National Offenders Rehabilitation Commission has the authority to apply to the Minister for a pardon for any particular person while regional parole boards have the authority to decide whether parole should be granted or not based on a recommendation made by the warden of the pertinent penal institution, etc. Probation offices engage in probation and parole supervision, adjustment of living environments and urgent aftercare of discharged offenders, and the promotion of crime prevention activities, etc.