Previous   Next        Index   Image Index   Year Selection
 White paper on crime 2009 Part2/Chapter5 

Chapter 5  Rehabilitation Services

  Organizations providing rehabilitation services include: the National Offenders Rehabilitation Commission within the Ministry of Justice; regional parole boards established in each high court jurisdiction (hereinafter referred to as “regional boards” in this chapter); and probation offices established in each district court jurisdiction.
  The National Offenders Rehabilitation Commission consists of a council with a chairperson and four members, and is involved in applying to the Minister for a pardon for a particular person.
  Regional boards decide whether parole should be granted or not. The number of members on each board is between three and the maximum number specified by Cabinet Order (15).
  Probation offices engage in probation and parole supervision, adjustment of living environments and urgent aftercare of discharged offenders, and the promotion of crime prevention activities, etc.
  Probation officers are assigned to the secretariats of regional boards as well as to probation offices.
  With the aim of setting up provisions and systems for improving and enhancing the functionality of rehabilitation, the Offenders Rehabilitation Act (Act No. 88 of 2007) was established by consolidating and integrating the content of the Offenders Prevention and Rehabilitation Act (Act No.142 of 1949) and the Act on Probationary Supervision of Persons under Suspension of Execution of Sentence (Act No.58 of 1954) and has been in effect since June 1, 2008.