Chapter 5 Rehabilitation Services

Organizations providing rehabilitation services include the following: the National Offenders Rehabilitation Commission (a council consisting of a chairperson and four members) in the Ministry of Justice; Regional Parole Boards (a council composed of not less than three but not more than 15 members) established within the jurisdiction of each high court; and Probation Offices established within the jurisdiction of each district court. The National Offenders Rehabilitation Commission has the authority to make a recommendation to the Minister of Justice to pardon a specific person while regional parole boards have the authority to decide whether parole should be granted or not, based on a recommendation made by a warden of a penal institution, etc. Probation offices engage in probation/parole supervision, adjustment of living conditions, urgent aftercare of discharged offenders, promotion of crime prevention activities, etc.